One month, one palette project & Pan That Palette: Finale

Just as it’s been with my nail polish project, I haven’t brought an update for the past two months on this project and I’ve decided it is time to call this one done as well.

It has achieved its purpose of teaching me my taste in eyeshadow and to get good use of some older palettes that I own. Furthermore, I helped me get so much progress, that I ended up depotting three of the palettes into one and I no longer waste so much space for the handful of shades left.

The one that has seen the most progress and that I have enjoyed panning quite a lot is the Oh So Special palette from Sleek. I ended up using the pinks as blush and the brown mixed with a bronzer for contouring. The two shimmery shades I’ve used up by using them as highlighters. So I was left with four really dark shades that would require some accompanying shades which was one of the reasons for depotting it.

The other palette that has seen a lot of progress, but that was already well used before the project is Natural Matte from Too Faced (the old version, before repackaging). As you can see I had repressed a shade in one of the empty slots and had increased the dips and pans in the other shades. Upon seeing online that this is the easiest to depot palette and that I can reuse the packaging as an empty palette to keep my eyeshadows, I knew that I had to depot it.

The other palette that I chose to depot was the Calm Before The Storm from Sleek, which, although had no pan showing after repressing the two shades that had some, and it had no empty slots, something about this palette annoyed me tremendously so I had zero mercy towards it. And am I glad I did it. Upon rearranging the shades I realised that their original placement in the palette was absolutely uninspiring to me and would just make me overlook it.

In case you want to find out more about how I repressed them, check the Depotting my palettes: Creating my custom palette post, otherwise here is the final product.

IMG_1963

So that’s that. It’s just way more visually pleasing, in my opinion. I ended up “decluttering” my IDC Colour palette, because I realised I didn’t like the quality of it and I just couldn’t make it work for me. I keep it somewhere “on display” as it was a nice thoughtful gift from my aunt so I do appreciate it, but I no longer consider it part of my makeup collection and I’m done trying to make it work for me.

The other palette that supposedly was part of this project is the Natural Love from Too Faced that got overlooked because I was trying so hard to get pan on these other older shades. So now that this project is over with I can give equal amounts of love to all of my palettes. Also, now that this project has accomplished its purpose, I have acquired two new palettes that I’m heads over heels in love with and that complete my collection, fulfilling any needs I might have in regards to eyeshadow.

And so it’s time for me to call this chapter done and come up with better, more creative ideas for this blog that will keep me wanting to post and to write, like it did in the beginning.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Kisses! ❤

3 thoughts on “One month, one palette project & Pan That Palette: Finale

  1. Yes, we both need to come up with new ideas and edit our blogs! I’m in the same boat. I have gotten really tired of some of my posts and I’m trying to think of something new and aspiring to write about. I still love blogging about my son 1-2 times a week, because he’s my life. But I grew tired of some of my posts. I’m thinking about doing a day time, evening, and pamper night skin routines. Also, do you want to collab on something? We could do a project pan (joke!). lol. We could do a tag. I’d really like to do some type of blog post with you though. It would be fun! 🙂 Great progress on your project pan. I just picked up two treats for myself at Marshalls that I will be sharing on my blog. I depotted my eye shadows after seeing you do it and got rid of uninspiring colors. I’m eyeing other things too now that don’t give me joy using.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some of these posts have become so uninspiring and feel more like a chore than a pleasure to write. I really need to get out of this rut. It’s awesome that there is this part of your life that you love to write about and to share with the world. I can’t wait to read about your skin care routines. I would love to collab with you, it is such a great idea! We need to think of a really fun tag to do! Also, I’m glad my post inspired you to depot your eyeshadows, it felt like a relief for me to get rid of extra packaging and shades that I didn’t care for.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. For sure, Fall is coming and there are usually some great seasonal tags. I am going to depot another peach corrector shade that is too dark for my skin tone. I am also depotting an orange cream bronzer that doesn’t match me as well. I don’t want to force myself to use something I hate b/c I paid money for it. The rest of the palette I really love. I need to get a Z palette, so I can put the ones that I want to keep all in one place. I’m glad still to not be looking at them when I open my palette now.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment